Photo Diary: New York, New York

Start spreading the news, I’m leaving today.

I want to be a part of it, New York, New York.

I wanna wake up, in a city that doesn’t sleep.

And find I’m king of the hill, top of the heap.

These little town blues are melting away

I’ll make a brand new start of it, in old New York.

Messing up the timeline for my travel photos, but I just can’t wait to post about my NYC trip any longer. It was the first time I was taking my DSLR for an overseas trip, and NYC is such a photogenic city. It has always been a dream of mine to visit, and I could not have possibly visited any sooner. The Big Apple is the backdrop of so many stories, movies, legends, and dreams. And I must say, it definitely rivals London as one of the most life-changing cities for me so far.

I landed on a rainy gloomy spring day. Like London, the weather is completely messed up there. Early April and it is freezing. The night before I reached, Central Park was covered with snow, and I missed it like whut. Talk about shitty luck. Honestly at first impression, I was hardly impressed. After 24 hours of traveling, we waited in line for a solid hour at customs before going through the gates. The line is atrocious, and for such an international airport like JFK, I expected a little more efficiency than experienced. Then again, I should stop comparing the rest of the world to Changi Airport.

After a good night’s sleep, we headed out into the cold, ready for Broadway and brunch. Clinton St Bakery definitely did not disappoint (and deserves a whole separate post by itself). Then off we went to Broadway, Times Square, Grand Central… and the typical route you would expect a tourist to take. Of course, we had to end the day with Shake Shack! Finally trying that beast.

New York. There is this sense of familiarity, when you walk through the perpendicular corners. Maybe because the city has been featured so many times that it exists somewhere in your subconscious. The phrase “The city never sleeps” seems to be coined just for New York, but in between the avenues, in the quieter streets and small parks, the city buzz dies down. I find it better to appreciate the city without all the hoo-ha. Strip away the glitz and glamour, turn off the lights, and leave the dark grimy personality in its most honest and attractive self. Just be careful not to get robbed, of course.

Leave a Reply

