Photo Diary: Fushimi Inari and Kiyomizudera Temple (Day 10)

 

Another day spent exploring the beautiful city of Kyoto. There was a hell lot of walking that day, and the Japanese summer was kicking into high gear! The skies were blue and sun was shining, but it only meant that the temperatures were soaring. That, coupled with the crowd, was almost unbearable for poor Yujie.

After visiting so many temples in Japan, it is safe to say that… I am fine not visiting any more temples. They are usually the same, and Kyoto is f i l l e d with them. I had a friend who visited Kyoto recently, and my honest opinion was, once you’ve seen one you’ve seen them all. For Fushimi Inari, you get to see the Inari gates, as they filmed Memoirs of a Geisha there, but there really is no point climbing all the way to the top. Like I said, once you’ve seen a row of Inari shrines… it is pretty much the same all the way up.

For Kiyomizudera temple, I enjoyed the view of Kyoto! That is something I would not mind climbing for. However, the crowd is quite le annoying. The number of tourists flocking around in Kyoto is more intense than Tokyo, simply because of the touristy nature of the city. There are a lot more historical monuments and sights in Kyoto than Tokyo imo, because Tokyo is more of a business/commercial city. As such, I would return to Tokyo again and again because of its constantly evolving nature, but I might not go back to Kyoto. Just my 2 cents worth.

That being said, I did enjoy Kyoto as a tourist for the first time! So I do recommend it as a must-see city for first time tourists 🙂

Leave a Reply

